Too much too young?

15 11 2006


I was planning to write something about the TV I’ve been watching the last week, but its that “November Sweeps” time of year, when there are new episodes of everything, and its all getting a bit much. Shows are blending into each other and I’m not laughing any more, or feeling anything much.

I watched American Dad and Family Guy today in zombie mode, didn’t laugh once. I watched Smallville while playing Pro Evo 6, and I couldn’t tell you one thing that happened in the episode. well, maybe one thing. then I did a little Marathon of My Name is Earl, and I’m still not feeling it like the first half of season 1. Its missing something, and throwing in comedy guest stars every week isn’t filling the gap for me. Maybe I’m tired of the premise… after lauding it to the heavens when it started. “What a great premise, the possibilities are endless” I said. A fool I am, a fool.

Actually, I tell you what I did like. A show called “Friday Night Lights“. I only decided to watch it because when I was looking around for info on whether Studio 60 was cancelled or not, all I found were blogs and TV critics saying Friday night Lights is a superior show. While I wouldn’t go that far *yet*, I can’t believe I was engrossed in a TV program about Gridiron for 45 mins, with people from the deep south. Based on a book, and then a movie, it looks deep and spiritual, is shot in a documentary shaky camera stylee, and is about a lot more than American football.

Other than that, Heroes is moving on at quite a pace, and holding my attention. and I still have to write a post about “The Wire“, but that deserves its own space, its that good. Sopranos good. yeah. Anyway, I have to make plans to see “The Prestige” at my local moving picture house, Otherwise my co-worker will beat me. and nobody wants to see me lose my dignity like that.

I’ll leave you with a scene from.. you know what, I’ve got nothing. The last weeks TV is all a blur, don’t remember any scenes. I’m going to lie down in a darkened room. with only a small flatscreen for company. and some juice.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

