mininova passes 1 billion downloads

10 01 2007

There is a story here about the fact that Mininova, my favoured site for downloading TV, has just passed 1 billion downloads. Thatsa spicy meataball!

I’m working on a few articles that are basically about how to get the TV you like, when you want it, and my first one was going to be all about bittorrent, which most agree is the most efficient way to download large files.

The thing is I don’t want to patronise anyone with the articles, but at the same time, I don’t want anything on this blog going over people’s heads. (Oh look , I’m at it already). I know there are lots of people out there that would like to be able to download TV, but don’t know where to start, especially if they have a router behind a firewall. So that will be my idiot’s guide.

Anyway, back to the article. Apparently on a normal day on Mininova they see twice as much traffic as the old Suprnova site used to, It’s no surprise. I went out the other night ( a few months ago actually) for a friends Birthday, and at dinner the main topic of conversation was Heroes, a show that is not premiering in the UK until February, and the new season of Prison Break, which starts on fve in a week or two. and none of these people were geeks, they were just normal folk using bittorrent like other people check their mail. It’s a normal everyday thing. and people aren’t shy about it either, they don’t feel like they are stealing, as they do with music or movies. Wait a minute, I’m getting Deja vu, I reckon I’ve written something like this before…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

