Charlie Brooker’s Screenwipe

6 02 2007

The man is a genius and I want to work with him. He thinks almost all the same things I think about TV, only he has a louder voice! If you are unfamiliar with Charlie Brooker, you may want to read some of his wok here. His latest article features a savaging of the latest season of 24. As much as I don’t agree that it’s quite that bad, it is clear that Jack is headed for Chuck Norris status far sooner than any of us would have thought. Anyway, back to Charlie Brooker.

The new series of Charlie Brooker’s Screenwipe started last night on BBC Four, I think. I don’t know for sure because of the shabby way BBC promote anything on BBC Four. I just know that I happened to turn it to BBC Four just as the announcer said it was starting, but for all I know it was the third time it’s been on this week.

Now I will tell you this: the next half an hour flew by. I don’t remember what made me laugh so hard, because he packs so much in and speaks so fast. He came up with the best review yet of this years Celebrity Big Brother, did a review of Battlestar Galactica that, although it didn’t quite convince me to watch it, came pretty close. And throughout the episode he gave the viewers a rundown of the Ofcom guidelines, complete with hilarious visual examples. Finally, he laid into the culture of celebrity, something that always gets me animated.

If I’ve ever made you laugh, you will like Charlie Brooker. If I’ve never made you laugh… we’re not friends anymore. Here is his take on this years Celebrity big Brother.

Charlie Brooker’s Screenwipe is on Mondays at 10pm on BBC Four. (How easy was that BBC?)

Actions

Information

One response

10 02 2007
InsideTheGlobe

He was hilarious. He is hilarious.
It’s like Harry Hill, but crueler. I laughed so hard I nearly choked on my own saliva.
I’d like to see a Rant-off between him and Jeremy Clarkson, that would be entertainment!!

Leave a Reply

