Viacom v Google

14 03 2007

Yesterday I was at work, and me and this guy started laughing randomly at Randy from South Park. Specifically the part in the episode “Red Hot Catholic Love” where he craps out of his mouth. So we started to search Youtube, in all kinds of ways. 0 results. Then I just decided to type in “South Park”. 0 results. I thought there was some kind of malfunction, until I read later that my company, Viacom, was suing the new media upstart, Google, for $1 billion! That’s right, Dr Evil is alive and is ultimately my boss!

Because of my conflict of interest, I couldn’t possibly comment on the situation, but I will say that Viacom need a centralised video distribution service as good as , if not better than, Google. Everything in one place. Because Youtube is so dominant, people won’t go hunting for what they need. they will ultimately find something else on Youtube that makes them laugh. Which is the reason all those classic Ali G clips are now playing on my vodpod, on the right there. think about it, Viacom people.

Actions

Information

One response

15 03 2007
South Park S11E02 - Cartman Sucks « Me and the TV

[…] clear. Season 11 is shaping up to be a classic. You won’t be able to watch it on Youtube for highly publicised reasons, but it will be on Paramount comedy 1 later in the year. Filed under: Comedy Central, Paramount, […]

Leave a Reply

