Strangers With Candy S01E01 – Old Habits/New Beginnings

21 03 2007

This is a show from 1999 I have been reading about and I decided to take the plunge and buy an episode from iTunes the other day. Described in today’s The London Paper as The best Sitcom Ever (TM), it stars Amy Sedaris as Jeri Blank, a 46-year old woman who has come out of prison, been through some hard times and decided to go back to high school. The program is a parody of the after school specials in the US that used to warn kids about the dangers of various things like drugs and… willies.

The first episode as always is an introduction of characters and there are some funny ones. A young(er) Stephen Colbert is one of Jeri’s teachers, and someone called Paul Dinello is quite funny as an artist of some sort.

As Jeri tries to fit into her new surroundings, she is mocked and laughed at (same thing really, but I’m splitting hairs), and decides to “go with what she knows”, in this case, giving the high school kids some of her homemade drugs. As you can guess, it all backfires and hilarity ensues.

Although the claims in todays paper (they are interviewing Sedaris about her new book) are quite bold, I’m willing to give it another go, because this is definitely worth another look. I’m so sure of it that I put my money where my mouth is and bought another episode. I might go looking for the boxset, that will save me a bit of cash in the long run methinks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

