Dirt S01E13 – Ita Missa Est

29 03 2007

I never thought I would watch all thirteen episodes of Dirt, but here we are. Watching the season 1 finale, I realised that it became quite a watchable series in a trashy, Hollywood kind of way.

The finale included the long awaited lesbian kiss between Jennifer Aniston and Courteney Cox, but it turned out to be no more than a peck on the lips played over slo-mo a couple of times. Not worth waiting for, not that I was waiting for that.I didn’t realise Ian Hart was English, his growling New York (?) accent has been fantastic. A dream sequence in this ep had him talking in a scouse accent, so the geek that I am I IMDB’d him and found out he was born in Liverpool! and has starred in many movies, some of which I have watched. I really should pay more attention in the cinema.

Most of the ep focused on the delusions of his Don Conkey character, and various dead characters telling him to kill Lucy Spiller. The writers pulled the wool over our eyes by making Lucy’s stalker her brother, something I find a little hard to believe. And Lucy’s rivalry with Tina Haddon was a nice setup for next season, if Jennifer Aniston is ready for a permanent return to TV.

The episode tied up almost all the loose ends while leaving a couple of cliffhangers, just like a finale should. At the end we had the shot of Hoult coming out of the limo to the glare of the waiting paparazzi, full circle from the opening episode when he was the schmuck to Julia Mallory’s heroine.

Although the anticipated bitch fight was a bit of a let down in terms of the way it was shot, I loved the idea that Lucy Spiller would die for her story, making Don take pictures of her semi-lifeless body for calling the paramedics. I think this show deserves a second season. and a place on UK TV on E4 or five US at the least.

Buy it on iTunes here.

Actions

Information

One response

20 03 2014
car dent repair Barnsley

I delight in, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be looking for.
You have ended my four day lengthy hunt! God Bless you
man. Have a nice day. Bye

Leave a Reply

