4oD, iPlayer, ITV.com all working on Vista

1 10 2007

Today’s adventure involved trying to get different UK networks online offerings working with Vista. And I am happy to report that I managed to get ITV.com, 4oD and the BBC’s iplayer believing that I was using a machine running Windows XP, and successfully download and watch programming. It involved downloading a utility to make your IE7 browser (eeurgh) report itself to certain websites as IE6. If anybody wants to know more, leave a message in the comments and I will send you in the right direction.

Actions

Information

8 responses

22 10 2007
Dave

Hi mate, i am trying to sort this out for a friend of mine, if you could point me in the right direction that would be great.

Cheers, Dave.

22 10 2007
ebarnieh

Send your friend this link:-
http://www.southanuk.co.uk/iPlayer/

and that should sort him/her out for iplayer and itv.com 4oD just works now for some reason.

14 11 2007
Channel 4OD Compatible With Vista

Well according to the Channel 4 website, 4 OD seems to be compatible with Windows Vista now… http://www.channel4.com/4od/get4od/

6 10 2008
lisa

hello

I have just installed 4od on my laptop which has vista, the installation went fine but when I try ti run 4od it does nothing, i have tried changing the compatibility to service pack 2, running as administrato ect… but it still does nothing…. how can I make it load?

Many thanks, Lisa

9 01 2009
zappastean

I got a MacBook OS 10.4.9,
any chance of you sending me & my hardware in the right direction to recieve ITV & BBC ?

with big hopes,
Zappastean

9 01 2009
Bridget

Hi. I thought I had downloaded the itv iplayer succesfully but it was a friggin nightmare trying t watch a programme. ive got vista so it that the problem?
would appreciate any help.
cheers
Bridge

5 05 2009
May

I seem to have the same problem as Lisa!
The program does come up, but when i try to stream a show or download it, it tells me i need to upgrade. I then proceed to follow the Install Wizard, but an error occurs and i cannot watch my show!!
Any advice would be helpful.
Thanks,
May

12 03 2014
Botas Tipo Timberland

Its like you learn my thoughts! You appear to know so
much about this, like you wrote the ebook in it or something.

I think that you simply could do with some % to force the message home a little bit,
however instead of that, that is great blog. A great read.
I’ll definitely be back.

Leave a Reply

